Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

Some Fall Cookin!

Food, Recipes

I have to say.. I really love summer. Like..REALLLLY love it. BUT..I have a hidden love for fall as well. I mean it’s football season, it’s my birthday time(Oct 22nd), new foods in the mix, and time to whip out cute fall boots and scarves. I think with this really crappy weather(thanks Hurricane Joaquin) did me in. I have been sleeping for 10 hours a night and just hibernation mode. Yes, hello fall.. you are here.

Doing my weekly grocery haul, I walked into Whole Foods and the fall goods were there waiting. Perfect timing to prep for some Sunday meals. I picked up some spaghetti squash, sweet potatoes and butternut squash.

Fall Produce

Today I am whipping up some sweet potato turkey chili and butternut squash soup.

Let’s start with the Sweet Potato Turkey Chili:

Sweet Potato Turkey Chili:
Ingredients
1.5lbs of Ground Turkey–the leaner the better. I like the 99%.
1 bottle of Tabasco chili starter– adds some spice to the mix
1 can of chickpeas
1 chopped up sweet potato-cubed
1 small bag of frozen onions
1 small bag of frozen chopped peppers

Directions:

Toss everything in a crock pot and set the temp to low. Allow it to cook for 5-6 hours. AND BAM!  You are done my friend.

Crockpot for Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

Crockpot for Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

Top with your favorite chili toppings. I love avocado on mine!

Sweet Potato Turkey Chili

Butternut Squash Soup
Ingredients:
1 butternut squash–prefer something bigger depending on how much soup you want to make
1 cup of coconut milk
Spices–fresh rosemary, salt, pepper, pumpkin spice

Directions: 
1.) Bring a large pot of water to boil
2.) Toss whole butternut squash in there until it’s cooked
3.) Cut the squash in half…BE CAREFUL–it’s going to be hot. Scrap out all seeds and toss, then scoop out butternut squash into blender/food processor and leave the skin.
4.) Blend butternut squash, coconut milk, and spices into blender until consistency is like soup.
5.) If you are serving right away, pour soup into crockpot to stay warm on low. If you are serving for later–pour into tupperware containers for later in the week!

What are your favorite fall recipes?

xx
Jami

Leave a Reply

